La Première Dame du Malawi rejoint le groupe de haut niveau sur l’Engagement de l’AOA
30 juillet, 2014 | Blog, Notre Voix,
  Share

La Première Dame du Malawi, Mme Gertrude Mutharika, est devenue le dernier membre à rejoindre le Groupe de haut niveau de l’Engagement de l’Afrique Orientale et Australe (AOA). Mme Mutharika a rejoint le groupe de haut niveau, composé de dirigeants de premier plan de la région de l’Afrique Orientale et Australe qui supervise la mise en œuvre de l’Engagement de l’AOA. Cet engagement a été approuvé, le 7 Décembre 2013, par les ministres de l’Éducation et de la Santé qui se sont engagés à intensifier les services d’éducation de la sexualité et les services de santé sexuelle et reproductive des adolescents et des jeunes à travers la région.

Cet engagement aidera à relever les nombreux défis auxquels sont confrontés les jeunes dans la région. Par exemple, plus de 35 pour cent des jeunes femmes ont subi une forme de violence sexuelle à un moment donné de leur vie. En outre, les infections au VIH continuent d’être un problème urgent avec une estimation de 430 000 nouvelles infections chaque année chez les jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans.

Parlant au nom du Groupe de haut niveau, Mama Salma Kikwete, Première Dame de Tanzanie, a félicité et a accueilli le plus récent membre, Mme Mutharika: «Je suis convaincue qu’en travaillant ensemble en tant que Premières Dames, nous allons apporter une contribution significative et des résultats positifs pour la santé de nos jeunes. Nous la félicitons pour cette nomination. »

Prenant la parole lors d’un dîner officiel qui a eu lieu à l’Hôtel Golden Peacock au Malawi, M. Mahimbo Mdoe, Coordonnateur résident des Nations Unies du Malawi et Représentant de l’UNICEF a déclaré : « Nous savons qu’il reste beaucoup à faire pour mettre fin aux mariages d’enfants, pour s’assurer que les filles restent à l’école, arrêter les grossesses chez les adolescentes,  arrêter les infections au VIH et les MST et s’assurer que les garçons et les filles disposent de l’information et des services dont ils ont besoin pour être en bonne santé et des citoyens responsables dans leurs communautés. » Il a également souligné la présence des ministres des Genres de la région de la SADC et a souligné la nécessité pour tous les secteurs à travailler ensemble pour atteindre les objectifs de l’Engagement de l’AOA.

En acceptant cet honneur, Madame Mutharika a déclaré : »L’approbation de l’Engagement de l’AOA est venue à un moment critique dans la région et fournira l’élan nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins d’éducation et de santé des futures générations. Je m’engage à travailler avec le Groupe de haut niveau afin de garantir que les adolescents et les jeunes de notre région sont prêts pour aujourd’hui et demain. « 

0

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

RELATED POST

2017 AfriYAN General Assembly

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en ...

Lire la suite...

Intr

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en ...

Lire la suite...
OTHER CATEGORIES
FACEBOOK

Comprehensive Sexuality Education #CSE linked Education and health outcomes need investment in teachers and curriculum integration for effective implementation #NotWithoutCSE #NotWithoutYFS #YouthSRHNOW #AfriyanGA2017 ... See MoreSee Less

#CSE Comprehensive Sexuality Educatuion must be linked to friendly #SRH services. A strong focus on rights and gender = better results #NotWithoutCSE #NotWithoutYFS #YouthSRHNOW ... See MoreSee Less

#Research shows that #CSE Comprehensive Sexuality Education does not lead to early sexual initiation. It delays initiation, reduces sexual partners and SRH risk #NotWithoutCSE #YouthSRHNOW ... See MoreSee Less

TWITTER

Twitter has returned errors:

  • “Rate limit exceeded [error code: 88]”

More information on errors that have codes here.

First Lady of Malawi joins High Level Group on ESA Commitment

First Lady of Malawi joins High Level Group on ESA Commitment

  July 30, 2014 10:16 am
  Share

The First Lady of Malawi, Madame Gertrude Mutharika, became the latest member to join the Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA) Commitment’s High Level Group. Madame Mutharika joins the High Level Group, composed of prominent leaders from the Eastern and Southern Africa region who oversee the implementation of the ESA commitment. The ESA Commitment was endorsed on 7 December 2013 by Ministers of Education and Health who have committed to scale-up delivery of comprehensive sexuality education and sexual and reproductive health services for adolescents and young people across the region.

This Commitment will help to address the many challenges facing young people in the region. For example, more than 35 per cent of young women have experienced some form of sexual violence at some point in their lives. In addition, HIV infections continue to be an urgent issue with an estimated 430,000 new infections every year among young people aged 15 to 24.

Speaking on behalf of the High Level Group, Mama Salma Kikwete, First Lady of Tanzania, congratulated and welcomed the newest member, Madame Mutharika: “I am confident that working together as First Ladies, we will make a meaningful contribution to positive health outcomes for our young people. We congratulate her on the appointment.”

Speaking at an official dinner that took place at the Golden Peacock Hotel in Malawi, Mr. Mahimbo Mdoe, Acting UN Resident Coordinator of Malawi and UNICEF Representative said, “we know that more needs to be done to end child marriage, to ensure girls stay in school, to stop teenage pregnancies, to stop STI and HIV infections and to ensure that boys and girls have the information and services that they require to be healthy, empowered citizens in their communities”. He also acknowledged the presence of the Ministers of Gender from the SADC region and stressed the need for all sectors to work together to attain the ESA Commitment targets.

Accepting the honour, Madame Mutharika said, “the endorsement of the ESA Commitment came at a critical moment in the region and will provide the momentum needed to address the education and health needs of our future generation. I commit myself to work with the High Level Group to ensure that our region’s adolescents and young people are ready for today and tomorrow.”


 
0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Twitter has returned errors:

  • “Rate limit exceeded [error code: 88]”

More information on errors that have codes here.