La Santé Sexuelle et Reproductive


Les Politiques de la Santé Sexuelle et Reproductive

Un large éventail d’engagements et d’accords internationaux et régionaux existent, reconnaissant explicitement les droits des adolescents et des jeunes dans l’accès à l’information et aux services de santé sexuelle et reproductive (SSR). Toutefois, ces traités qui établissent des normes pour les droits de l’Homme sont très larges. L’expérience montre que beaucoup de ces engagements sont toujours bafoués en raison de lacunes dans les politiques, le manque de budgets adéquats ou de structures de suivi en place, entre autres. Souvent, l’adoption est lente et la mise en œuvre n’est pas systématique ou harmonisée.

Les Défis dans les Services de la Santé

L’accès, l’utilisation et la disponibilité de la contraception sont généralement faibles dans la région. Beaucoup de jeunes ayant besoin de contraceptifs ne les utilisent pas et / ou certains les utilisent de façon incohérente ou incorrecte. Il y a des risques élevés pour la santé pour les adolescentes enceintes y compris des taux plus élevés de mortalité maternelle. Malgré les lois restrictives sur l’interruption de grossesse dans la région, un grand nombre de jeunes femmes ont tout de même accès à ces services. Souvent, ceux-ci sont dangereux et entraînent des complications de santé à long terme voire même la mort. En outre, les jeunes vivant avec le VIH sont confrontés à un certain nombrede défis supplémentaires, comme l’accès au traitement du VIH, les manquements à la confidentialité, la stigmatisation et la discrimination. Leurs droits à l’accès à l’éducation et à l’emploi ne sont pas toujours reconnus.

 

POURQUOI DES SERVICES DE SANTE SEXUELLE ET REPRODUCTIVE?

Afin d’exercer pleinement leur droit à la santé, y compris la santé sexuelle reproductive (SSR), les adolescents et les jeunes doivent avoir un accès effectif, abordable et acceptable à une gamme de services. Certaines interventions clés comprennent les services liés à la grossesse, à la prévention du VIH et des MST, au dépistage et au traitement :

  • La contraception moderne (préservatifs masculins et féminins, contraception hormonale telle que la pilule ou les injectables, les implants, les dispositifs intra-utérins (DIU) et les diaphragmes) ;
  • L’avortement (lorsqu’il est légal) ;
  • Les soins post-avortement ;
  • Les soins et les services relatifs à la grossesse ;
  • La prévention de la transmission du VIH à l’enfant par la mère ;
  • La fiabilité de l’accouchement et les soins post-partum ;
  • La circoncision masculine médicale volontaire ;
  • Le test, le diagnostic et le traitement des MST ; et
  • La confidentialité des test, les soins et les conseils pour le VIH.

PRÉOCCUPATIONS LIÉES

FACEBOOK

Comprehensive Sexuality Education #CSE linked Education and health outcomes need investment in teachers and curriculum integration for effective implementation #NotWithoutCSE #NotWithoutYFS #YouthSRHNOW #AfriyanGA2017 ... See MoreSee Less

#CSE Comprehensive Sexuality Educatuion must be linked to friendly #SRH services. A strong focus on rights and gender = better results #NotWithoutCSE #NotWithoutYFS #YouthSRHNOW ... See MoreSee Less

#Research shows that #CSE Comprehensive Sexuality Education does not lead to early sexual initiation. It delays initiation, reduces sexual partners and SRH risk #NotWithoutCSE #YouthSRHNOW ... See MoreSee Less

TWITTER

Twitter has returned errors:

  • “Rate limit exceeded [error code: 88]”

More information on errors that have codes here.

Sexual and Reproductive Health


Sexual and Reproductive Policies

A wide range of international and regional commitments and agreements exist that explicitly recognize the rights of adolescents and young people in accessing sexual and reproductive health (SRH) information and services. However, these treaties that establish standards for human rights are very broad. Evidence shows that many of these commitments remain unrealized due to policy gaps, lack of adequate budgets or monitoring structures in place, among other issues. Often times, the adoption is slow and implementation is not systematic or harmonized.

Challenges in Health Services

Contraceptive access, use and availability are generally low in the region. Many young people who need contraceptives are not using them and/or some use them inconsistently or incorrectly. Health risks for adolescent pregnancy are high and include higher rates of maternal mortality. Despite restrictive laws on termination of pregnancy in the region, a large number of young women are none-the-less accessing abortion services. Often, these are unsafe and result in lifelong health complications or even death. In addition, young people living with HIV face a number of additional challenges, such as access to HIV treatment, breaches to confidentiality and stigma and discrimination. Their rights to access to education and employment may also go unrecognized.

 

WHY SEXUAL AND REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH SERVICES?

In order to fully exercise the right to health, including sexual reproductive health (SRH), adolescents and young people must have effective, affordable and acceptable access to a range of services. Some key interventions include services related to pregnancy, HIV and STI prevention, testing and treatment:

  • Modern contraception (female and male condoms, hormonal contraception such as pills or injectables, implants, intrauterine devices (IUD) and diaphragms);
  • Abortion (where legal);
  • Post-abortion care;
  • Pregnancy advice and care;
  • Prevention of mother-to-child transmission of HIV;
  • Safe delivery and post-partum care;
  • Voluntary medical male circumcision;
  • Diagnostic testing and treatment for STIs; and
  • Confidential testing, care and counseling for HIV.


RELATED CONCERNS

Twitter has returned errors:

  • “Rate limit exceeded [error code: 88]”

More information on errors that have codes here.

'