L’UNESCO et l’Eglise au Soudan du Sud aident a renforcer l’Education Sexuelle chez les Jeunes

L’UNESCO et l’Eglise au Soudan du Sud aident a renforcer l’Education Sexuelle chez les Jeunes

  mai 22, 2015 8:51
  Share

Les organisations confessionnelles fournissent non seulement des conseils spirituels à leurs adeptes, mais sont aussi des leaders au sein de leurs communautés, aidant à mettre en forme les attitudes et les comportements. Au Soudan du Sud, l’Église a fait preuve de constance en fournissant l’accès à un large éventail de services sociaux, notamment relatifs à la santé et à l’éducation. Elle fournit également un traitement au VIH et soutient les personnes vivant avec le VIH dans le pays.

The Church to Strengthen Sexuality Education among Young People and Community

Le clergé du Sud-Soudan et les missionaires à l’atelier

 

Le 17 Avril 2015, l’UNESCO, le clergé du Soudan du Sud et des missionnaires provenant de 10 États se sont réunis à Juba pour un atelier visant à donner la priorité à la santé et à la sexualité des jeunes de leur pays.

Organisé par les Missionnaires Comboniens du Soudan du Sud, l’atelier a abordé l’initiative « les jeunes aujourd’hui » qui a amené les ministres de la Santé et de l’Éducation de l’Afrique Orientale et Australe (AOA) à s’engager à conserver les droits des jeunes à la santé sexuelle et reproductive, les informations et les services des jeunes au premier plan de leurs programmes nationaux.
Avec environ 30 participants présents, Castarina Lado, chargée de Programme national de l’UNESCO a parlé de l’importance du rôle que jouent des chefs religieux en s’engageant dans cette initiative.

« L’Engagement ministériel de l’Afrique Orientale et Australe sera critique dans la réduction du VIH et de la prévalence des infections sexuellement transmissibles, de la violence basée sur le genre et des grossesses non-désirées chez les jeunes dans les cinq prochaines années; le clergé a un rôle important à jouer en tant que gardien » a affirmé Lado. « Il est, à bien des égards, capable de se rapprocher des communautés, des parents et des jeunes là où d’autres institutions n’y parviennent pas»

Au Soudan du Sud, la connaissance approfondie des jeunes sur la prévention du VIH est encore extrêmement faible. Le taux net de scolarisation dans le primaire est de moins de la moitié de la population des jeunes, à environ 40 pour cent, tandis que les taux d’abandon se situent entre 16 et 30 pour cent. Moins de deux pour cent sont inscrits dans les écoles secondaires. Cela signifie qu’il y a un grand besoin d’utiliser des approches alternatives, telles que par l’Église, pour que l’information sur la santé sexuelle et la sexualité soit disponible et accessible. D’autres concepts ont été abordés tels que la famille, la parentalité, les relations et la sexualité.

Certains des participants qui administrent des écoles ont exprimé leur intérêt concernant la formation de leurs enseignants à l’éducation sexuelle complète afin de mieux atteindre les jeunes et leur fournir des informations adéquates.

« C’est un sujet très important», a affirmé un participant, Fr. Phillip. « Nous avons besoin de fournir aux jeunes plus de connaissances sur ces questions. »

Au niveau global, l’UNESCO est mandatée pour soutenir le secteur de l’éducation afin de répondre au VIH et au sida. Au Soudan du Sud, l’UNESCO renforce la réponse du secteur de l’éducation en intégrant l’éducation sexuelle complète dans les programmes scolaires. Afin de réaliser l’Engagement ministériel de l’AOA, l’UNESCO formera des partenaires, tels que les diocèses, à addresser l’éducation sexuelle complète en ciblant les élèves, les enseignants, les parents et les tuteurs.


 
1

Une réponse à “L’UNESCO et l’Eglise au Soudan du Sud aident a renforcer l’Education Sexuelle chez les Jeunes”

  1. On my view, the people who concern with education, should keep educating young people, how to prevent theme self, and also to educate peoples, how to used condoms as a way of preventing this stigma. We should go to the street children , since they don’t have people among them, who will teach them, how to have sex without protection . Thank you all who contribute to help people to stay healthy and leave normal life.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Twitter has returned errors:

  • “Rate limit exceeded [error code: 88]”

More information on errors that have codes here.

UNESCO and the Church in South Sudan help strengthen sexuality education among young people

UNESCO and the Church in South Sudan help strengthen sexuality education among young people

  May 22, 2015 8:51 am
  Share

Faith-based organisations not only provide spiritual guidance to their followers but also are fundamental leaders within their communities, helping shape attitudes and behaviours. In South Sudan, the Church has been steadfast in providing access to a wide range of social services including health and education. It is also providing HIV treatment and support to people living with HIV in the country.

The Church to Strengthen Sexuality Education among Young People and Community

The South Sudan Clergy and Missionaries at the workshop

 

On 17 April 2015, UNESCO, the South Sudan clergy and missionaries from 10 states across the country came together for a workshop in Juba to prioritise the health and sexuality of their nation’s young people.

Hosted by the Comboni Missionaries of South Sudan, the workshop discussed the “Young People Today” initiative that has Health and Education Ministers from Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA) committing to keep young people’s sexual and reproductive health rights, information and services at the forefront of their national agendas.

With about 30 participants in attendance, UNESCO’s National Programme Officer, Castarina Lado, spoke about the important role religious leaders have in engaging with this initiative.

“The Eastern and Southern Africa Ministerial Commitment will be critical in reducing HIV and STI prevalence, gender based violence and unintended pregnancy among young people over the next five years; the clergy have an important role to play as gatekeepers,” said Lado. “They are, in many ways, able to connect with communities, parents and young people where other institutions simply can not.”

In South Sudan, young people’s comprehensive knowledge about HIV prevention is still extremely low. Primary school net enrolment is less than half of the young population, at about 40 per cent, while dropout rates range between 16 and 30 per cent. Less than two per cent are enrolled in secondary schools. This means there is a great need to utilise alternative approaches, such as through the Church, to ensure information on sexual health and sexuality are available and accessible. Concepts such as family, parenting, relationships and sexuality were all topics discussed.

Some of the participants who manage schools expressed interest in training their teachers on comprehensive sexuality education in order to better reach out and provide adequate information for young people.

“This is a very important topic,” said participant, Fr. Phillip. “We need to do more in providing knowledge to young people on these issues.”

At the global level, UNESCO is mandated to support the education sector to respond to HIV and AIDS. In South Sudan, UNESCO is strengthening the education sector response by integrating comprehensive sexuality education (CSE) into the education curricula. In order to realise the ESA ministerial commitment, UNESCO will train partners, such as the dioceses, to roll out CSE targeting learners, teachers as well as parents and guardians.


 
1

One response to “UNESCO and the Church in South Sudan help strengthen sexuality education among young people”

  1. On my view, the people who concern with education, should keep educating young people, how to prevent theme self, and also to educate peoples, how to used condoms as a way of preventing this stigma. We should go to the street children , since they don’t have people among them, who will teach them, how to have sex without protection . Thank you all who contribute to help people to stay healthy and leave normal life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Twitter has returned errors:

  • “Rate limit exceeded [error code: 88]”

More information on errors that have codes here.